10 Non-Materialistic Things That Make Me Happy

A bit of a personal one today and the complete opposite vibe to my post on Wednesday!

But earlier in the week, I watched a documentary on Netflix called ‘The Minimalists‘. It wasn’t something I particularly wanted to watch but the BF wanted to so I went along it with it and watched anyway.

Honestly, I thought it’d be boring and not something I would be interesting in AT ALL, as it’s not a secret that I love the finer things in life and this documentary was about living without those things!

But how wrong was I!?
The documentary was actually very eye-opening and I really enjoyed it!

If you haven’t already, then definitely give it a watch!

It made me think that we can all get a bit lost in this world full of celebrities and social media and wanting things that we don’t have just because we’ve seen other people with it.

So I took a step back from that for a moment and started to reflect on the amount of things that can bring us happiness, that money can’t buy.

My Top 10 Are:

ONE: The BF
My best friend, my boyfriend and so much more. He knows me better than I know myself and is always there for me. I don’t know what I would do without him.

TWO: The Niece

The funniest, loveliest and most beautiful little girl. I mean just look at her!
She’s such a little character and brings so much joy and happiness into my life.
I am also going to be an auntie AGAIN very soon, to another little princess and I honestly can’t wait!

THREE: Long Baths
After a hard day at work, there is nothing that washes those stresses away like a long, hot, bath! With a bit of relaxing music, a scented candle and lots of bubbles, happiness is always restored!

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

FOUR: Keeping a Diary
Who knew that something so small and simple could be so helpful? Not only is it great for being organised (which always makes me happy!) but it’s great to jot down a few thoughts/feelings/daily ongoings, which really helps to offload!

img_3343

FIVE: Sunny Days
Do I need to say anymore!?
I’m a summer baby so there is no doubt that a warm, bright and sunny day makes me happy. Chilling in a park, with a blanket and book is just heaven to me. Love love love.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

SIX: My Bed
Laying in bed is my little safe haven. I just love it. It’s cosy, warm and the perfect place to chill out with a coffee and a magazine on a day off work!

9AE28A55-9E50-4A6B-BC14-C1DC12D2A6C3.jpg

SEVEN: Music
Ask me to name my favourite song and I just can’t do it…there are FAR too many to name! Why? I guess because music elicits sheer happiness within me!
I’m not saying that all music is happy because I’m not, but isn’t there always that song that makes you want to put your hands in the air like you just don’t care!?

 

 

img_4490

 

EIGHT: Running

Well, not during the run itself as I would be lying if I said that, as I often feel like I’m about to die! But afterwards, I feel such a great sense of achievement and am really proud of myself for getting up and going, that I then feel more motivated to do it again. So it’s true, those endorphins really do kick in after exercise!

E1E5BA27-832D-491C-A817-7649985E862F.jpg

NINE: My Friends and Family

I couldn’t live without any of them and as they say, friends are the family that you choose and this quote says it all…

img_4488

TEN: Blogging
Of course, this is something that is very new for me but I am already so hooked. I love sitting down with a coffee and writing posts on whatever I’m loving/thinking/buying/doing etc. even if no-one does read it! (LOL).

86F65364-FB22-4C9A-BF5E-7E2235109EAB.jpg

 

Anyway, I hope you’ve enjoyed this post…I know it’s a bit different.
I ‘d love to know what you think and whether it’s made you think about what makes you happy?
Don’t forget to leave a comment below!

Court x

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

